From a Friend

inside-2

The Road Now

Hello Family,
    Hope you are all doing well.  I am sitting on the couch watching a ridiculous amount of snow fall out of the sky wondering why the only time it snows is when we have some sort of plan to go out.  Haha…  I have a little story to encourage you that I witnessed yesterday.  Just about made me breakdown and start crying on the street.

 Yesterday I was on my way to the bank (praying that the money I was about to deposit would adequately pay all the bills that so happily float their way into my mailbox every month…I still don’t know who gave them my address!) The bank is just about a mile up the road so I walked.  As I was walking I was mindlessly pondering everything that I saw.  Brighton center is such a cute little town, with a church that actually looks like a church and a small town produce stand.  As I was walking down the street, I noticed a man, some ways in front of me with this little fat dog he almost had to pull down the street.  My mindless wondering came up with this scenario for my next life in which I come back as that fat little happy dog (or Cappie of course).  This little dog was so fat, the man had to pull the little guy, he definitely didn’t look like he was in the mood for walking.  It was actually quite funny.  My mind wandered from wanting to reprimand him for giving his dog too much people food to stopping him so I could play with the little guy.  I was so busy analyzing this man with the dog that I didn’t notice the other man on the street, a blind man, trying to make his way down a very precarious street with potholes and cracks, quite the terror if you can’t see where you are going.  He had one of those sticks with him, that kept getting tangled in the bushes.  My mind switched to feeling very sorry for him, as he slowly crept along, banging his stick into the sides of buildings and other people.  It made me very sad, how some people don’t even have eyes they can rely on.  As I was watching this scene, the man with the fat little dog walked right up to the blind man and said, “I’m here on your left side, I’m going to watch over you for awhile and help you make your way down the street, just follow me.”  I then watched the man with the dog entwine his arm with the blind man’s and walk slowly down the street.  The blind man said, “Thank you so much sir, I feel like I just get in people’s way, thank you for stopping for me.”

Talk about a knife to the heart.  Here I am so wrapped up in paying stupid bills and wanting to yell at an older man for feeding his dog too much, that I didn’t see the need that was literally right before me.  I started crying and then it hit me, a pretty direct message from God.  So often we think of God as that stick blind people use.  We bang him around trying to find our own way.  With this method we are able to avoid the big problems in life, the buildings and bushes but what about the cracks, the obstacles that appear as if from no where?  The crude, banging stick method can’t pick up on the subtle terrors in life that easily trip us up.  God is much more involved.  Much more compassionate than a crude stick that doesn’t really help all that much.  God steps up next to us and says, if you trust me I am going to watch over you for awhile and help you make your way down the street, just follow me.  Had the blind man resisted he would have continued on his way, banging the stick into people and buildings just trying to make it a few steps.  But with the help of some true eyes, eyes that can see the obstacles in life and even why they are there, he walked confidently forward making much better progress.  I stood there for awhile.  I’ve been trying to do so much on my own, swinging God around like a stick just trying to avoid the people and buildings that I forgot how he steps up next to us, heart to heart, reaches down and directs us forward.

Isaiah 48:17-18, “I am the Lord your God who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.  If only you had paid attention to my commands, your peace would have been like a river, your righteousness like the waves of the sea.”

I love you all and hope you are doing well.  Happy New Year.  2009 is going to be better than 2008.

Love Jackie

Published with permission.

Adam

3 Responses to “From a Friend”

  1. ProdigalKnot Says:

    Good thoughts! We all tend to get so busy and focused that we miss the things that are special and may very well be sign posts for our journeys.
    I have expereinced the same unveilings, but am still working on going from concentrating on what distracts me and looking for what that might be distracting me FROM!

  2. wen Says:

    also agree–very good thoughts–something i am becoming to realize myself–spending so much time searching for something that has probably been right in front of me all along–now actually grasping that concept and following that is another thing–blessings to you.
    wendy

  3. theroadnow Says:

    It is a good story and really hit home for me. God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

