This Way, It Is Said

The Road Now

When my grandfather died I had nobody to turn to.

 I did not cry, I was not sad and those around me called me names

I did not know what I was, I did not know what I felt.

Life later defined this day as lost, angry and confused

One week earlier I sat with the old man and listened as he spoke not the usual riddle.

He told me he was leaving this earth and I would no longer see him.

He shared two words with me, sacred words they turned out to be.

For many years these words would bring me light and guide me through the darkness.

My darkness being me, running, him leading as my wounds.

My loss was great, evidenced by the dent in my soul

Peace, Love, and Understanding I would not  find until my own son and I traveled

Into a land unknown by me since I was a young boy, together we  journeyed

The land was unkept and littered with weeds and a fading light of a marker hoping to be noticed.

There I saw his name and cleared the land as my young son watched

Anger, hurt, and disappointment ascended from the soil into the heavens

I began to understand and it was clear to me

Leaving was not something he could have controled

Yan Yak my friend in your time of grief, and forever as you walk forward

In the abundant light that you so freely share

May you find Peace, Love and Understanding

The Road Now

Protected by Copyscape Web Plagiarism Checker

7 Responses to “This Way, It Is Said”

  1. Meg Says:

    Stay strong. Your work and your writing is amazing. God will get you through your grief. Thank you so much for having a link to my blog on here!!

  2. The Road Now Says:

    I am so happy you stopped by. I have been reading your blog and I cry about your loss. I pray that God light your path and help you heal.

  3. telove4him Says:

    hey friend–thoughts with you–sorry been so long for me to comment–still enjoy coming to your blog–can so relate to what you write–take care

  4. Heather Says:

    Hi. I’m slightly under the influence visiting ghosts. How are you?

  5. Heather Says:

    My number is the same. I’m still here should you need an ear. I haven’t forgotten.

  6. Jill Says:

    Adam,
    This is amazing. I don’t know how it is that I’m only just coming to see this now, as I opened my email and there it was, above your message from this evening, but I thank you for your words, your caring and your understanding.

    Love & Peace,
    Jill

  7. The Road Now Says:

    Thank You Jill

    I wrote it because the light was interrupted and I felt the pain.

Leave a Reply

